Thursday, January 3, 2008

Thursday January 3, 2008
Anticoagulation Medications - sites of action

A very simple diagram to show at what level basic 4 groups of anticoagulation medicines strike their effect.

Heparins - UFH and LMWH - are antithrombin

Warfarin - Warfarin inhibits the synthesis of biologically-active forms of the vitamin K-dependent clotting factors II, VII, IX and X, as well as the regulatory factors protein C, protein S, and protein Z.

Direct thrombin inhibitors (DTIs) - Hirudin, Lepirudin, Bivalirudin, Argatroban etc. - are a new class of anticoagulants that bind directly to thrombin and block its interaction with its substrates.

Thrombolytics - streptokinase, urokinase, alteplase, rtPA, reteplase, tenecteplase - works by activating the enzyme plasminogen, which clears the cross-linked fibrin mesh.

No comments: